traditional craft of bamboo

The bamboo of this flower pot grown in the west side of Kyoto.
By using a special knife, the skilled craftman split a bamboo tube  to make 16 pieces of thin  strip and arranged them in lattice pattern.

Without wire and adhisive to take one hour, I made this pot with the help of 75 years old craftman. His family has lived in Kyoto since 300 years ago and inherited a traditional bamboo craftsmanship.

Bamboo strip is strong and flexible. Regularly arranged shape is the combination of nature and the wisdom of man.

If you have a chance to come to Kyoto, please try it and realize the traditional artcraft of Japan.

 

Did you like my article?

You can send me a message to get a customized itinerary and quotation for an unforgettable experience.

I'll be waiting for you, so please check my profile and get your trip plan now

Plan your trip to Kyoto with Toshiko K.

Chat with a local tour guide who can help organize your trip.

Send Message